*Author Interview* E.H. Demeter

Its that time again so grab a cuppa, sit back and say a big hello to our author E.H.Demeter! 🙂

 

{85770296-C7B9-47D8-9D05-606ACEF321D3}Img400

Tell us a bit about your book 🙂

 

Good morning! My book is called Secrets, and is the first book of The Rune Trilogy. If you enjoy romance with a paranormal twist, then this is the book you’ve been waiting for. Secrets, is an exciting mix of romance, action, and adventure. We follow Juliet as she uncovers hidden truths about herself and the mysterious man she meets unconscious and naked in an Oregon cave.

Juliet Adams is as normal as an Oregon thunderstorm, but working as a nurse allows her to live vicariously through the past adventures of her favorite patient, giving her hope for her future. However, when her fiancé dumps her six months before the wedding, that hope crumbles. Brokenhearted and in dire need of support, Juliet gives into her sister’s request and agrees to spend a week on the coast. Unable to escape the reminders of her loneliness, she stumbles upon a mysteriously glowing cave and an equally mysterious man. This chance encounter with the magnetic Marsh Darrow sends her on a whirlwind adventure, filled with myth, legend, and creatures beyond imagination. As her idea of normal falls apart, Juliet discovers an inner courage that shows her she is more than she ever dreamed— the prophetic key to a war that centers around centuries-old secrets.

 

 

What would say is the genre for your book?

 

My genre is, for this book, is Paranormal Romance.

 

 

Where did the inspiration come from?

 

The inspiration for Secrets, came from a writing prompt in a group I was in. I don’t remember the prompt now, nor do I still have it, though I do have the original incarnation of it! I’m hoping to play with it and turn it into a novella one day.

 

How did you come up with the title for your book?

 

The title was originally The Secret. And it dealt a lot with the original idea. As the book grew, and the story changed, so did the title.

 

How long did it take you to finish writing the book before the first edit? How many drafts were there in total?

 

It took me two years to write Secrets. We went through three drafts before we settled on what is now, Secrets.

 

Are there any characters in the book based on people you know?

 

I’m sure in some way all my characters are based on someone. However, I did not consciously base anyone in Secrets off someone I knew.

 

How did you celebrate being published? Did you have a launch party?

 

I did have a release party! It was a ton of fun, and we had games and prizes. I am also planning to do a release party for Lies, book two.

 

Would you care to give us an extract?

 

 

Who was he? Why was he out in the storm and how did he come to be naked in this cave? Questions ran through my mind as I reached out to touch his hand.

A strangled cry broke past my lips as his hand shot out, fingers wrapping around my wrist, his grip startling. I gasped as I found myself jerked forward until our noses were all but touching.

Piercing blue eyes bored into my own.

“Who are you? How did you find me?” His voice was rough and sudden, like the thunder that boomed outside, and just as wild.

He had an accent I couldn’t place and he smelled of the sea.

I wondered if he would taste of the sea as well.

 

How do you beat writers block? Any tips?

 

Ha! I wish I knew. This is something I fear I will always struggle with. I’m struggling with it right now. The best suggestion I can say, is just, get away. Get away from your work. From your house. From your normal space. Get away. Let your mind rest.

 

Do you have any hobbies apart from writing?

 

I do! I play video games, I crochet, I dabble at drawing. I enjoy reading, and playing DnD as well.

 

When you write, do you consider yourself to be a plotter or a pantser?

 

I am most definitely a pantser. It always surprises me when I DO plot something out.

 

Do you have any advice for fellow writers?

 

Keep writing. Don’t worry about how it sounds, or if it’s rough. Just keep writing. Also, join writing groups. Look on facebook, look locally. Get out there and join them. We have an amazing group on facebook called Writer’s Retreat, and we would love to have you!

It’s so important to share you work, learn from others and watch how you grow. Because writing is art, and as an artist, you should always be growing in your art.

 

If your book became a film- who would you pick to play the main characters?

 

Ha! I already have this decided. Marsh would be played by Aiden Turner (Being Human UK version, Poldark), and Juliet would be played by Eleanor Tomlinson (Poldark). Beatrice would be Amy Acker (Angel, Dollhouse, Person of Interest), and her husband Bill would be Alexis Denisof ( Buffy the vampire slayer, Much Ado about nothing), and Robert would be played by Luke Evans.

 

I see you have new work in progress- care to tell us about it?

 

I have numerous works in progress, haha. Right now, I’m most actively working on Lies, Book Two of the Rune Trilogy. But I’m also working on a whole NEW series, called The Witches of Shell Island.

 

 

Lastly, where can readers find you and your book on the internet?

 

They can find Secrets on Amazon here: http://tinyurl.com/gwtj4c7

And they can follow me here!

 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/EHDemeter
Series Page: https://www.facebook.com/therunetrilogy

 

Twitter: @EH_Demeter

https://twitter.com/EH_Demeter
Instagram: TheDarlingWordsmith https://www.instagram.com/thedarlingwordsmith/
Pinterest: Imalilmilkdud

https://www.pinterest.com/imalilmilkdud/
Tumblr: EHDemeter

www.ehdemeter.tumblr.com
And my website: www.ehdemeter.weebly.com

 

Thanks so much for taking time to chat – i for one cannot wait to hear all about The Witches of Shell Island! The Writers Retreat facebook group is the best I defiantly recommend everyone to join! 🙂 

 

x

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to *Author Interview* E.H. Demeter

  1. Hello! Just left you a message on your last post from Sunday Sketches. Oh dear…just getting caught up. Please make sure to read it. 🙂

    xo

Please leave a reply :D

