D = Dreams

So day 4 is D, took me a while to think of something but then dreams came to mind.a-to-z-letters-d

Now I dont mean the kind where my mind wanders to visualising my book on a shelf in waterstones or in a shop window gleaming with pride next to my favourite authors- or the one where I win the booker award/ costa award/ any award for it….. Or even getting a publisher for that matter!

No not those dreams (and very doubtful ones but hey a girl can imagine right?) but actual fall asleep and the story comes to you type dreams! Ever had them?

Its where the story began- from a dream I had (also another story for a flash fiction piece called the doll factory came from a nightmare- link here https://itsjennythewren.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/the-doll-factory-october-flash-fiction-entry/ )

Sometimes I dream a scene to be written or have just wrote and its the most brilliant thing as if the characters have come alive somehow and directing me!

Steven King said that his books came from dreams!

So always keep a notepad on your bedside cabinet just incase!

This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to D = Dreams

  1. paulaacton says:

    I tend to find that only the rough idea comes to me in dreams it is the waking wanderings that add the flesh to the bones of the plot

  2. silly me forgot to put the link up lol

  3. I have many crazy vivid dreams and do keep paper beside my bed. My D word was daydream:))

  4. Me too! In fact, the idea for my book came in a dream – and many of my stories are dreams. I always say I do my best work while I’m asleep! 😉 Imagine having Stephen King’s nightmares… I’ve had some bad ones but at least they gave me material. My dreams are usually pleasant these days!

  5. I’m prone to crazy vivid dreams – I try to write them down as much as I can, and I should really go back over them for ideas for writing!

  6. So far I’ve not had an idea that I can write about come from a dream – but there’s always a first time!

  7. kaye draper says:

    Yes! I have always been a very, very vivid dreamer. When I started writing seriously, I finally figured out why 🙂 I’ve had so many ideas/scenes, etc. come from dreams. I LOVE it when this happens, because it’s like you are living your book! And, as a bonus, I rarely ever have nightmares! The human brain is an amazing thing.

Please leave a reply :D