I can do it! (and other writing ramblings)

Every now and then every writer I think gets the “i cant do this” “im not good enough” thoughts in their head-especially me, even when I get so many supportive comments to my posts I still get nervous as I wonder if the skill will go away or if my writing starts to not be as good as it was etc….

What I have done is printed off some comments and stuck them in my notebook so I can always look at them and it will remind myself that i can do it

Also the blog award and my competition entry being published on a blog (http://mystiparker.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/october-flash-fiction-9.html) has made me feel less nervous and I am so grateful and happy for the opportunity and recognition.

It gives me the motivation to write more of my book (but I wont post excerts up now- what you have seen is a teaser) but I will update and let you know what ive done and for xmas il post a chapter or two up who knows 🙂

On top of a low self esteem I also have the “too many ideas in my head” dilemma! There are 3 stories- one is the book and the other two are story’s i want to develop more, but they will have to wait! I jot down bits if I think of something for them but how do you remain focused??

Writers block does happen on occasion so I tell myself a few of my fav quotes (like a mantra) when I write:

“First get it written; then get it right”

“You cant edit a blank page”

“I am writing for fun- something for me, something thats not baby related”

It works! I then research something for the book (like the place, what events agency’s do, character profile etc) and I get a spark of an idea and before I know it 50 words are on the page ready to be expanded!

Gosh so many problems a writer can have! How many have you had?

Anyway I am now rambling on so again from the bottom of my heart thankyou all and god bless you

X

(piccys from – http://paulduffield.tumblr.com/ and http://ilovereadingandwriting.tumblr.com/post/16035408708/keep-calm-poster-writing-inspiration-by)

This entry was posted in random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I can do it! (and other writing ramblings)

  1. I know how you feel – I am just getting together the plot for a book I have in mind – its taken me the best part of a year, now I really need to think and feel my characters – and then if I can muster the confidence, write the thing – its a big undertaking! :o).

    • Thanks hun its a scary but rewarding experience! Will you post abit up in your blog? Whats the theme? Cnt wait to hear more! Good luck 🙂 we should get a motivational group going! Xx

  2. I know how you feel. I have been writing two books over the past few years and haven’t finished them even though I know what I want to say. It’s hard to find the time, then get the confidence that it’s any good. Hugs x

  3. Paul says:

    I’ve gotten side-tracked by blogging. And yet, I can’t stop. Maybe it’s the instant gratification I enjoy?

Please leave a reply :D

