The fight

Week 62 of the 100 word count challenge – http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week62/

Prompt- it cant be that time again

It cant be that time again? A week goes by so quick these days- maybe because I don’t pay attention to what day it is anymore as each day is the same anyway.

Pearl shook her head and came back into focus.  Sitting at the hospital waiting room she glanced at the magazines.  Maybe I should get a new haircut or take up a hobby? She pondered

“Mrs Potts” the doctor called out

Dragging herself into the room, she stripped off and put on the gown.  She laid down on the machine shaking.

“Mrs Potts, we will be starting your 2nd run of radiotherapy now”

 

This entry was posted in 100 word count and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The fight

  1. Lovely take on the prompt – but very bitter, sweet …. I hope she gets better!

  2. Paul says:

    Lousy to have to go through something like that alone. Good job, though. If she’s thinking of haircuts and hobbies, she still has hope! Nice job.

  3. Delft says:

    Grim subject…
    I like the phrase “she came back into focus”. It’s an apt description of something we all know.

  4. Thanks guys! She has hope so fingers x for her! x

  5. Mayumi-H says:

    Nicely done with that waiting feeling, Jenny. I’ve been sitting in a hospital room like that – not for that particular procedure, but I sympathize with the jumble of thoughts. Well played!

  6. Another fab piece, bitter sweet and well written x

  7. Anxiety does build in a waiting room doesn’t it. You captured the feeling in this so well.
    Very nice …

  8. Poor Pearl. Loving her positive attitude though! Well written and a great take on the prompt.

  9. Judee says:

    Well done, you drew me in. I related to the first part because the older I get, the more days do tend to blend together. But you really got me with the radiotherapy, jumped my right back in time to when I was 15. I guess I’m really glad to be around so many years later, days blending together.

  10. Oh my. I expected she would be waiting to hear about a sick friend or relative – somehow this is more of a shock. Well written.

Please leave a reply :D

