The Protected

Im linking up with JB47′s 100 Word Challenge.Week 46- 100 word count challenge

Prompt – in the dark recess of my mind

In the darkest recess of my mind I knew it, I wished I was wrong and that someone got the facts wrong, but somehow I always knew that something was not quite right- I did not fit in with society. Everyone I trusted I confined in them and each time they told me I was being silly and to stop thinking foolish thoughts before I get into trouble- but they all lied.

I guess they lied for my own safety as well as their own. For if the others found out the actual truth about who I am, I will face punishment of the highest order- death.

Image

This entry was posted in 100 word count and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Protected

  1. sjbwriting says:

    I like this. It sounds like a teaser for a film trailer or book. I really want to know more of the story.

  2. Totally agree with the above comment – it really does sound like a teaser, and a very good one at that. Left me guessing!

  3. Mayumi-H says:

    Interesting predicament you’ve created. I wonder what’s going on with the narrator, and what s/he did to bring such punishment….

    One little nitpick: I think you mean “confided” rather than “confined.” (Those sorts of slips happen to me all the time when I write these!)

  4. Miriam says:

    Ooh! Who is she? Where is she? Will they find out? Does she die? What’s the name of that book again?

  5. Gilly Gee says:

    I agree with all the comments, you could make this into a much longer piece!

  6. Great opener, now I want to know the rest of the story! Is it something you might expand on, or we will be left guessing…?

Please leave a reply :D

