Running

I’m linking up with JB47’s 100 Word Challenge.Week 40- 100 word challenge prompt- Ruby

Lucy’s feet felt like weights and her legs were trying to tell her that they could not continue, mother natures breath was sweeping through her hair and her tears were seeping through Lucy’s skin.

She looked at the pedometer, not far to go before she reached her goal. Passers-by watched on as she kept her pace as she tried to smile at them.

She looked out to the sea view by her side, the tide was just waking up and she got there first.

“Just a little further”

Lucy could feel her cheeks burning- if she had a mirror they would look as bright as a ruby.

This entry was posted in 100 word count and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Running

  1. Sandra says:

    A nice one – I’m exhausted with the thought of it. 🙂

  2. You can feel her determination to make it to the end.

  3. many thanks!! 🙂 – kinda reflected on my own running experience x

  4. Why do people put themselves through it when they could get the same effect from blusher? Some things I will never understand. Good writing though.

  5. Gilly Gee says:

    Wow yes the imagery is fab, ‘mother natures breath’ terrific!

  6. thankyou so much! 🙂 gives me confidence to write more xx

  7. DancingInTheRain says:

    Agree about the good imagery – in fact, I wasn’t sure at first whether you were describing a real person’s experiences.

  8. Mayumi says:

    Nice! I always like to be able to “see” the scene, and this one paints a pretty picture. Love your interpretation of the prompt, too. The line about the tide waking up is a great one!

  9. Very nice take on the challenge. I liked it very much.
    Hope you’ll stop by and read my entry.
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/ruby/

  10. Miriam says:

    I was trying to think of the word “imagery”. I should have just looked at the previous comments. I agree with them.

  11. Great piece, so much determination. x

  12. prosingon says:

    We’re all right there with you. Fantastic, descriptive, great read.

  13. jfb57 says:

    Well done! I love the descriptions of the wind & rain & you captures the feeling of exhaustion really well.

    Can you make you link the URL of the post rather than your blog. Saves folks having to search for it.

  14. lorrainefort says:

    I can feel her strain and her deisre to not be sucked back by the weather, the clime of her race…lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  15. snagglewordz says:

    I think that might be the nicest description of wind and rain I’ve ever seen! Nicely said. Go Lucy!

Please leave a reply :D

